Click HERE to send us an EMAIL.

WizMerlin St Hilaire started singing in school choirs; served as choir leader at the Canefield Catholic Church for many years; acted in and used his musical talent to compose the theme songs for numerous plays produced by the New Dimension Theatre; was also for many years a guitarist for the Dominica Folk Singers.
First appearance in the National Calypso Competition in 1988 and placed second with the songs “Those were the Days” and “Song of Love.” Placed second in the 1988 Independence Calypso Competition; won the Dominica Calypso Competition Crown in 1989 by performing the songs “Feed my Brother” and “Young and Restless.”
Migrated to New York that year for studies but returned to Dominica the following year to successfully defended his title by singing “Yes, There’s Hope” and “Provocation”; Represented Dominica at the regional Caribbean Broadcasting Union Song Festival in Jamaica in 1991 and placed second; participated in and won the first ever New York / Dominica Calypso Competition in 1996 in New York.
Merlin St. Hilaire known to many by his calypso name “Wizard“ has written or composed or arranged music for Dominican performers or calypsonians; musical influences are David Rudder, Chalkdust, Sparrow and Bob Marley; currently lives and works in New York.


Grand Calypso Competition

  • 1988 – Song Of Love / Those Were The Days – Second Place
  • 1989 – Feed My Brother / Young and Restless – Calypso King
  • 1990 – Yes, There’s Hope / Provocation – Calypso King
  • 1991 – One Nation / Gina – Finalist

Independence Calypso Competition

  • 1998 -Sweet Dominica – Second Place


  • 1988 – Recipient of F.A.M.E Award for Best Calypso: “Song Of Love”.
  • 1991 – Second Place in Caribbean Broadcasting Union Song Festival in Jamaica
  • 1996 – Winner of the First Dominica/New York Calypso Competition.


CD-cover_Return CD-cover-Torias-Secret CD-cover-Together-Again
Tracks Listing

  1. Mo’ Jamming
  2. Young N Restless
  3. Take It Slowly
  4. Feed My Brother
  5. Dance With Me
  6. I Come To Party
  7. Gina
  8. Rub Me Belly
  9. Song Of Love
  10. Dominica
  11. One Nation</>
  12. Take It Slowly groove mix
Tracks Listing

  1. Bachanal Fever
  2. Nature Isle
  3. Love In The Air
  4. Victoria’s Sectet
  5. Rock With You
  6. Provocation
  7. Soca Blues
  8. Those Were The Days
  9. Move Up
  10. Rock With You ragga mix
Tracks Listing

  1. Together Again
  2. Black Man White House
  3. Find Your Mojo
  4. Sookway Kow
  5. Aye Bon Dieu
  6. Ready For Love
  7. All I Wanna Do
  8. She Blowing
  9. Play I Music
  10. Sombody
  11. Shame And Scandal</>
  12. Roung N Restless re mix

Click here to Listen to and Buy This CD Episode